“I Have a Dream”

Twenty years ago last January when my little girl was five years old, her Kindergarten class learned about Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr. through ‘study’ of his “I have a dream” speech. They watched a tape in class of his speech, and the teacher told them about what a moment it was on that day, August 28, 1963. Their assignment for the next day for each was to write, in his/her own words, what “I have a dream” meant to them.

Here is a copy of what my daughter Sarah wrote:

The ‘translation’ reads as follows:

“I have a dream that we all could love one another;
I have a dream that we can be sisters and brothers,
That when the sun shines down on the world that there be
Peace on Earth in every place
For every one of every race.”

by Sarah Elizabeth Nelson, age 5 (1990)

May no one ever say or do anything to diminish the Dream of which Dr. King spoke, nor to diminish the Dream which an innocent child was thereby and therefore inspired to write, to dream.

Happy “Dream” day to all on Saturday, August 28, 2010.

About frugalchariot

How Frugal is the Chariot That bears the Human soul. (Emily Dickinson)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “I Have a Dream”

  1. Nice. Children are nature’s gift to us. They remember why they are here and then they grow up and life takes over. Thanks for sharing this. Your daughter has good values.

  2. Kristin says:

    Very cute 🙂

  3. Molly Howze says:

    My music teacher has a song with these lyrics. Do you know who to credit the music to and how I can get a recording?

  4. Marissa says:

    I remember singing this in second grade! Omg… it was like my favorite song. and now im 17.. lol

Leave a Reply

